At the 2019 Regional Assemblies in Bismarck and Fargo, elections were held for one officer position, the NEA Director, as well as delegates to represent North Dakota United at the National Education Association’s Representative Assembly in Houston, Texas, this summer, and NDU-Retired board members.

The winners are as follows:

NEA Director:

Brenda Seehafer has been elected as your new NEA Director. Seehafer is a Title I teacher from Rolla, where she has been teaching the last 16 years. She previously taught at Wolford, and also worked at the UND Lake Region College library. She currently serves on the NDU Board of Directors.

Your NEA RA delegates:
  • Jordan Hollingsworth, Park River
  • Deb Beeler, West Fargo
  • Denbea McNally, Minot
  • Emily Dissette, Minot
  • Brooke Kopp, Bismarck
  • Laura Bubel, Hazen
NDU-Retired board members:
  • Phyllis Kupitz, vice president
  • Debra Johnson, secretary
  • Fern Pokorny, southwest member
  • Linda Benson, public employee member

Three ND United officers were elected by acclimation, as the only candidates in their categories who filed nominating petitions signed by 50 active members in good standing by Feb. 15, 2019. Those officers were: Nick Archuleta, President; Gary Feist, Vice President of Public Employees; and David Marquardt, Vice President of Education. Three delegates to the NEA RA were automatically elected by filing their petitions on time. Those were: Danielle Borseth, Mandan; Tyann Schlenker, Fargo; and Tim Thueson, Williston.