The North Dakota United Foundation recently awarded over $18,000 in scholarships and grants to North Dakota United members, dependents of members, and students preparing for professions in public education and public service. The goal of the NDU Foundation is to aid educators, public servants, and students in achieving greater educational success by offering various grants and scholarships to individual educators, public servants, and college students designed to enhance their skills. The NDU Foundation currently offers nine specifically designed and administered scholarships and grants to NDU members and students. To find the complete list of scholarship and grants as well as application due dates and how to apply, please visit You may also make a tax-deductible donation.

The Foundation is proud to share this year’s scholarship and grant recipients who have all demonstrated a dedication to the goals of North Dakota United.


George Brackin III

George Brackin has been awarded a Ron and Ann Anstrom Scholarship as well as a Horace Mann ND Agents Graduate Education Scholarship, totaling $3,500. He is pursuing a Master of Arts Science Education degree with an emphasis on Secondary Physics. By obtaining his master’s degree, Brackin hopes to gain the knowledge to be able to offer additional AP Physics classes at Century High School.


Saige Forseth

Saige Forseth has been awarded a Cindy and Gary Rath Education Scholarship of $1,000. Forseth, a graduate of Hillsboro High School, is entering her sophomore year at Valley City State University. She is pursing a degree in Elementary Education and a minor in Spanish. Her goal is to teach fourth or fifth grade.


Olivia Gronos

Olivia Gronos has been awarded a Bill Oban Special Education Scholarship of $1,000. Gronos is a 2018 graduate of Watford City High School and is entering her junior year at the University of Mary, Bismarck, where she is pursuing a double major in Elementary and Special Education. As she continues with her education and work and volunteer experiences, she looks forward to becoming an impactful teacher who helps students at every level succeed in reaching their goals academically, personally, and socially.


Alexander Gorthy

Alexander Gorthy has been awarded a NDU Member Dependent Scholarship of $800 to pursue a Bachelor of Science in Education degree with a major in Art and a minor in Digital Design. Gorthy recently graduated from Surrey High School and is planning on attending Minot State University this fall. His goal is to become a full-time art teacher at a public school and help his future students express and spread their creativity and positivity through art.


Jesslyn Hall

Jesslyn Hall is the first-ever recipient of the Halstenson Family Music Scholarship and has been awarded $1,000 to complete a Continuing Music Education Orff Level 3 Training. She teaches Kindergarten-5th grade music, 8th grade choir, and High School choir at St. John Public School. She is pursuing the training to develop musicianship, creativity, and teaching strategies that can be effectively implemented into her classroom.


Emily Kennelly

Emily Kennelly has been awarded a NDU Education Scholarship of $1,500. Kennelly graduated from Saint Thomas Public School and is entering her junior year at Mayville State University. She is pursuing a degree in Elementary Education with a specialization in Reading. She is the President of the Student Education Association, a Peer Leader, a tutor, and a member of the SNDU Executive Team.


Michelle Kukowski

Michelle Kukowski has been awarded a Horace Mann ND Agents Graduate Education Scholarship of $1,000 to pursue her master’s degree in Education through the University of Jamestown. She has taught grades 3-6 throughout her fourteen years in education.


Sara Medalen

Sara Medalen has been awarded a Workplace Innovation Grant of $500 for a Girl Power – Summer STEAM Academy to be held this summer. Medalen, the 2020 North Dakota Teacher of the Year, is partnering with Minot State University and STEAM Ahead to design a 2-day summer program that will introduce participants to college life while offering academic sessions on science, mathematics, arts, engineering design, robotics, and computer coding. An emphasis will be placed on 21st century skills of communication, collaboration, creativity, and critical thinking. She is a Reading and Math Interventionist for grades K-5 at Sunnyside Elementary School.


Eric Sanders

Eric Sanders has been awarded a Ron and Ann Anstrom Scholarship as well as a Horace Mann ND Agents Graduate Education Scholarship, totaling $3,500. Sanders is pursuing a graduate degree in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in Teacher Leadership. He is an English teacher and Instructional Coach at Red River High School in Grand Forks. His goal in pursuing a graduate degree in teacher leadership is to develop his teaching practices while spreading and celebrating a culture of innovation and growth.


ChristiAnna Schmidt

ChristiAnna Schmidt has been awarded a NDU Member Dependent Scholarship of $800. Both of Schmidt’s parents are educators – her mother is an elementary teacher and her father an Agriculture teacher. She graduated this year from Beulah High School and is planning on attending North Dakota State University this fall to study Agricultural Communications and Marketing.


Dinah Seastrand

Dinah Seastrand has been awarded a NDU Education Scholarship of $1,000 for her junior year of Elementary Education study with a concentration in Kindergarten at Minot State University. She is a 2018 graduate of Minot High School and is active in Minot State’s SNDU chapter. Her goal is to make a positive impact on future generations of North Dakota.